Skip to main content

Faculty Awards & Honors

January 28, 2010 Donald Farley

“Hannes Alfven Medal of the European Geosciences Union”

ECE Professor Donald FarleyECE Professor Donald Farley is awarded the Hannes Alfven Medal of the European Geosciences Union. The Hannes Alfven Medal honors outstanding scientists who have made major contributions toward understanding solar system and other cosmic plasma environments. This medal was established in recognition of the scientific achievements of Hannes Alfvem, who received the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1970 for his work on controlled magnetohydrodynamics and plasma physics.

The medal will be presented to Professor Farley during the General Assembly of the Union to be held in May 2010 in Vienna, Austria, where Prof. Farley has been invited to present a "Medal Lecture."

Dr. Farley joined the ECE's faculty in 1967. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and a member of the American Geophysical Union, the International Scientific Radio Union (URSI), and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

About This Web Page:

Maintaining accurate and timely information on our web site is important to us. If you feel that the content on this page needs attention, please contact the designated content representative below:
Thomas Mitchell Send Email.